Holding On & Letting Go

Image

There is nothing left between us,

but our broken feelings,

and our once happy memories.

While you’ll be letting go of them,

I’ll be holding on.

The letter you wrote yourself,

but left for me to find…

I’ll keep reading it until every word

is tattooed on the right side of my ribcage.

 

I’ll see your face in jazz songs,

and hear your voice on art gallery walls,

While I am holding on to them,

I know that you are letting go.

I’ll be hanging my heart on the clothesline.

You helped it start growing,

and since it’s been watered with candles and incense,

I think it needs sunshine now.

 

When it’s big enough,

they’ll be room for all these things you’re letting go of…

the pain, the fights, the ring I threw into the ocean.

They’ll be space for hindsight too,

forgiveness, and friendship.

It’s all gonna mix up with the once happy memories.

In the end, I’ll have a giant heart,

beating healthy and strong,

Which is something I’ll keep holding on to…

though you are letting go.

 

About Lee Stone -leest1-

The world is changing: Stand for Something. Soporte Para Algo. Independent Poet/Artist. Portland, OR · http://facebook.com/sonstone
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

