Rock My Hoodie like I’m Trayvon Martin

Today, I’ll rock my hoodie like I’m Trayvon Martin…
because I know what the loss of a life is.
I’ll light a candle for his family.
and I’ll ask my higher power to help his mother find justice.

Today, up inside my window
I’ll fly a flag that’s in support
of the free Syrian army,
and the people of Bahrain.

Today I’ll make my own decisions,
form my own opinions,
find truth inside my self.

image: collegenews.com

I was blinded and believing
all the things that the news said.
Put my life into a system
built by faulty belief sets.
Sold my soul just for some money,
but it wasn’t enough
Let my heart, my health, my mind
be broken by debt.
I’ve lived off of Chinese children’s
manual labor…
Mexico’s too.
But I woke up
and read a story in the news,
and it just wasn’t true.
So I looked myself up inside the mirror,
and I hated that dude.
Programmed by commercials
to be better than poverty,
better than minorities,
better than women,
and better than you.
A self-appointed liberal,
with white privilege,
and borrowed views.

Today I’ll make my own decisions,
form my own opinions,
find truth inside my self.

Today, up inside my window
I’ll fly a flag that’s in support
of the free Syrian army,
and the people of Bahrain,

Today, I’ll rock my hoodie like I’m Trayvon Martin…
because I know what the loss of a life is.
I’ll light a candle for his family.
And I’ll ask my higher power to help his mother find justice.

— leest1 —

About Lee Stone -leest1-

The world is changing: Stand for Something. Soporte Para Algo. Independent Poet/Artist. Portland, OR · http://facebook.com/sonstone
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

