I’m Sorry Libya

To the people of Libya,

I am sorry for the way that I watched your uprising and your fight from my couch. While it inspired me to think about a few things, it wasn’t enough to get me off of my ass. Good job though.

I’m sorry that my government was working with your oppressors. I didn’t have first hand knowledge, so I’m not guilty of conspiring. I just choose to ignore the horrible crimes that my leaders commit against humanity. My ignorance is aimed at keeping those same criminals from tapping my phone… it’s a self preservation thing. I hope you can understand

I’m sorry that while you are building a future for your people, my people will be trying to capitalize from it. We want your natural resources. We’ll trade you for our polluted form of Christianity. We’ll throw in cable television too. You’ll be saved, and distracted, while we pull your oil from the ground. Thanks for doing business.

I’m sorry that this letter may never reach you. You may never know that there are people in the United States who care about what you are doing. We are proud of the way you have molded the world to meet your needs. It reminds us of how nervous we were on the first day of school. The memory only lasts a second though. College football starts today… and since I’ve already been saved, it’s time for my distraction.

Keep Pushing,

Lee Stone

About Lee Stone -leest1-

The world is changing: Stand for Something. Soporte Para Algo. Independent Poet/Artist. Portland, OR · http://facebook.com/sonstone
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

