I am not

There is an undertone of fear that hides behind the liberal voting, minority dating, white man within my body. It is something I ignore every day.

I’m scared of every single look I get from black men at the grocery store, every spanish speaking youth that walks behind me with his friends, but I ignore those underlying sentiments to go about my day.

Taking comfort in the thought that, I am not a racist… because I didn’t glare back, or look behind me when I walked just to make sure that I wouldn’t get robbed by three 14-year-old kids, in broad daylight.

Martin Luther King, Jr., in Memphis, Tennessee, on the night before he was killed by a sniper – April 3, 1968. Picture: Thanks to (http://www.noiselabs.com/blog/)

If I had, I might not have seen aggression in that man’s stare. Maybe he was only disappointed in the selection of blueberries in the produce section. I had passed them by already.

I may have seen the innocence, the playful look and smiling faces inside the young men’s hooded sweatshirts… but I am not a racist, because I didn’t glare back, or look behind me when I walked.

*** leest1 ***

About Lee Stone -leest1-

The world is changing: Stand for Something. Soporte Para Algo. Independent Poet/Artist. Portland, OR · http://facebook.com/sonstone
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

