(Blame Me) My Country is Dying


We have failed. My country is dying, all around me. So I’m asking for help, from you, my friends and my extended network of family. It appears that many of us have become disgruntled and under-appreciative of our importance.

In Ecuador, On September 30 of this year an estimated 75,000 national police and military members went on strike against their government, joined by many public workers and students. Airport and transportation services were closed. Businesses and financial institutions were unable to open doors without security. The motivation behind this strike is a mere loss of benefits for the national police and military.

In the United States, we do not need to riot. We do not need to shut down our transportation systems… we do need to care. It kills me that we let big money and television advertisements sway our judgement. I know that it’s hard to do, but I need you to find the time and the motivation. I worked for nine hours, had a mid-term in my literature class, and still managed to vote, all in the same day.

To everyone reading this, who has turned their back on our system, who did not cast a ballot. I am holding a middle finger in the air at you. The reason we are not happy with our representation and our current situation, is because we do not really care. We like to complain. We like to blame. We like to believe the well produced commercials and skip the public access channel. We like things to be easy. We like other people to do stuff for us. I can understand, because I am human too. I am not perfect. I can forgive.

What I want you to understand is that when other people do it, they do it for themselves. They don’t care about us. If the majority of voters are always old, white, and rich… they will always get the representation.

I need help, but am not asking for much. What I am asking for, is for you to care. I am asking you to vote.

*** leest1 ***

About Lee Stone -leest1-

The world is changing: Stand for Something. Soporte Para Algo. Independent Poet/Artist. Portland, OR · http://facebook.com/sonstone
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to (Blame Me) My Country is Dying

  1. jonolan says:

    I was following along right with, but then you wrote, “If the majority of voters are always old, white, and rich… ” and I realized that “your country” wasn’t America and never will be.

Leave a Reply

