Problems with Parties

original picture by: Lee Stone

I got problems with politics, parties, campaigns, and my taxes;
with banks, over-draft fees, corporations and insurance companies;
my car, gas prices, thoughts, and my health.

I mean… I got REAL problems with this shit.
My car won’t start sometimes, but I have a 45 minute commute to work,
where my wages are being garnished because I can’t afford to pay my taxes,
which I owe for the only year in my life when I made more than $25K.
I get to “take home” about $500 every two weeks for 80 hours of backbreaking work.
I’m having surgery next week with no intention of fixing my car.

So after an average round of overdraft fees,
because I had to fill my gas tank for the last few days until payday.
I’ve got a 3 day hold on my funds and a balance of about $425.
Add in my girl’s unemployment and we stimulate the economy with about $2,000 a month.
Food, rent, gas, car payments, insurance premiums, cell phone’s, utility bills.
We’re looking at a budget deficit that needs to be addressed immediately.

So… we have done consumer condom tests, taken surveys, voice testing, shoveled dirt…
I’ve sold my I-pod, Playstation, 80% of my clothes, some of my girl’s clothes, my microphone, matching silver cufflinks and money clip set, some silver coins, memory chips, basketball shoes, DVD’s, books, furniture, and everything I could find in grandma’s garage.
I would have donated sperm, but struggled with the idea of “my” kids contacting me later in life.

Can someone tell me how in the fuck we’re supposed to afford a wedding… finish college, save money, buy a house, raise kids?
Where is my stimulus package? Where is my girl’s stimulus job? Where is my free healthcare, and my affordable college education, and my tax breaks, and my free checking account, and my doctor, and my representation? Where is it?

Only asking ’cause I’m not in position to have a party. I’m going to work in the morning.

—– Lee St1—–

About Lee Stone -leest1-

The world is changing: Stand for Something. Soporte Para Algo. Independent Poet/Artist. Portland, OR · http://facebook.com/sonstone
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

