Life Imitates Sports

So much of life, particularly mine, seems to come back to a sporting event, a  football game… or that time I went for drinks with friends after catching a game downtown. Many of my memories are tied to sports.
The 1985 NFC Championship game between the Bears and Rams is the first memory I have of watching football. My dad had friends over, they were laughing, drinking beers, and teaching my brother and me as much as we could understand about football. Touchdowns, field goals, offense, defense, Eric Dickerson and Walter Payton, got it. From that day forward, I cheered for the Rams. Somehow though, over the course of that game, my big brother became a Bears fan.
I wore blue and yellow hats with my bangs hanging out from under my bill throughout the late 80’s and early 90’s. He campaigned for a Bears Starter jacket for his 11th birthday, and got one. I have a Rams t-shirt that still hangs in my closet, autographed by Henry Ellard. He lost to Cade Mcknown’s team, in the state playoffs, when they were both seniors in high school… and that dude was a first round pick and giant bust for the Bears a few years later. We collected football cards together. We played catch in the front yard together. We both starred on our high school football teams. We cheered for each other.
I gave him a Walter Payton jersey for his birthday a couple of years ago. He was wearing it when we hung out last weekend… it made my day.
The NFL draft is tomorrow, the Rams have the #1 pick, and I am excited.

About Lee Stone -leest1-

The world is changing: Stand for Something. Soporte Para Algo. Independent Poet/Artist. Portland, OR · http://facebook.com/sonstone
This entry was posted in short stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

